Training the Soul

This morning I woke up with the words, “Training the soul in righteousness.”  Our soul (mind, will, and emotions) being conformed to His will.

2 Timothy 3:16-17 in the Amplified says, “Every Scripture is God-breathed (given by His inspiration) and profitable for instruction, for reproof and conviction of sin, for correction of error and discipline in obedience, (and) for training in righteousness (in holy living, in conformity to God’s will in thought, purpose, and action), so that the man of God may be complete and proficient, well-fitted that thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

Isaiah 26:9 says, “With my soul I have desired You in the night, yes, by my spirit within me I will seek You early…”  The soul and spirit are in one accord.

Our soul has to be trained to walk in the Spirit.  We train it each time we bring every thought captive.  We don’t allow it to futilely wander, or dialogue.  We bring it into subjection.  We train our thoughts through God’s word hidden in our hearts.  The word is our trainer in righteousness.  It reveals His will.

When we start to feel negative, or irritated, or ungrateful, etc., we must immediately begin quoting a verse in our heart.  As we do this, we are training our mind, will, and emotions to conform and be in one accord with Him.

Psalm 104:34 says, “May my meditation be sweet to Him; I will be glad in the Lord.”

2 thoughts on “Training the Soul

  1. 34 years ago I asked God how to walk in the spirit so I would not fulfill the works of the the flesh? He answered me through your journal and teachings about dialoging with negative thoughts. This is a daily task that I have committed to. Thanks for your constant reminders to think on things that are fruitful and beneficial to the spirit. I believe this should be the first thing taught to new believers. It would save them from a world of evil and stinking thinking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

