Letting go

A few days ago I was blissfully walking out to my new garden bed when I was accosted with that ominous rattle that stopped me in my tracks.  I couldn’t see it, but watched my drip line explode with its movement as it went into hiding.

Well this brought fears from my past to the surface!  As a result, I’ve been meditating on verses to help me conqueror this long standing stronghold of fear.  Instead of the word “sin” I have inserted “fear.”  Romans 6:2, saying “…How shall I who died to fear live any longer in it?”  Colossians 3:3, saying “For I died to fear, and my life is now hidden with Christ in God.”  You can insert what binds you to your past.

This morning when I woke up the Holy Spirit spoke these words to my heart: People who live in the past miss the grace available for the present.  The fears from our past chain us to our past so we can’t go forward.  There is a phrase from an old hymn: the sins that bound me, bind me no more.

Isaiah 42:9 says, “Behold, the former things have come to pass, and new things I declare; before they spring forth I tell you of them.”  Isaiah 43:18-19 says, “Do not remember the former thing, nor consider the things of old.  Behold, I will do a new thing, now it shall spring forth; shall you not know it?  I will even made a road in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.”

2 thoughts on “Letting go

  1. Once again your words have become Rhema to me. I have been dealing with fear. I have been using 2Timothy 1:7 for years. Now I have new arsenal for the enemy. Thanks love for continuing this ministry. I truly value you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

