Savor

Last night I was meditating on Isaiah 43:3, but focused on “I will be with you.”

This morning my first thought was “savor the goodness of the Lord.”  Psalm 34:8 says, “Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who trusts in Him!”

Savor means: enjoy or appreciate something pleasant, esp. by dwelling on it; relish, enjoy to the full, appreciate, delight in, revel in, luxuriate in, bask in.  It is another word for mediate.  I was savoring in the truth of His ever presence in my life through every circumstance.

Here is a few lines in a song the Holy Spirit gave me years ago.  It is called “The Song of the Altar.”  It is a great illustration of savoring His goodness.

I set my eyes on You and I gaze into Your face.  I bask in the love of Your eyes full of grace.  No one can comfort me like You O Lord.  I will make Your presence my abiding place, as I hide in You from the tempest of this storm.  Yes, I’ll hide in You as I bow and worship at Your feet.

2 thoughts on “Savor

  1. What encouraging words! but….at the same so sobering! At rest, or in an unhurried moment, (if there is such a thing 🙂 where does our mind go? As I read this description of ‘savor’ it reminded me of what I do with some drink I specially like…..I ‘sip’ on it. Ah yes, trying to make it last longer. BUT, in the light of God’s Word, we can not only taste and sip – we know His supply is in the abundance of the riches of His grace. So we know it is not going to run out, still the mediating and allowing those riches to sink down deep and refresh our roots is a needful and sustaining blessing to our souls. “THINK on these things”….Phil 4:8

    Like

Leave a Reply

