Before I was afflicted…

I woke up with this verse from Psalm 119:67 which says, “Before I was afflicted I went astray, but now I keep Your word.”  The Amplified says, “…now Your word I keep (hearing, receiving, loving, obeying).”

The affliction was the direct result of going astray.  Psalm 119:10 says, “With my whole heart I have sought You; oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!”  Wander means to go astray.

Meditating keeps our heart from straying.  To stay means to move without a specific purpose. Joshua 1:8 says to observe to do so that you will proser and have good success.  Meditating has purpose and is intentional.  Is is God’s manna provision for success.  Psalm 1:3 says the result of meditating is that everything we do will prosper.

Luke 4:4 says, “…Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.”  This is quoted from Deuteronomy 8:3.  The manna was gathered each morning.  It was their sustenance.  Meditating is our daily sustenance.   Fresh bread through communion with Him through His word.

One thought on “Before I was afflicted…

Leave a Reply

