Every Need

I meditated on Philippians 4:19 from the Amplified, just the words: liberally supply (fill to the full).  The next morning I went back to my reading in Jeremiah.  I love how the Holy Spirit links events and verses.

Jeremiah 31:14 says, “I will satiate My priests with abundance, and My people shall be satisfied with My goodness, says the Lord.”  In my margin satiate means filled to the full.  Then verse 25 says, “For I have satiated the weary soul, and I have replenished every sorrowful soul.”

Last night I meditated on “every need” from Philippians 4:19.  We have myriad needs.  Think about how many times you might say “I need to…” during your day.  As I was meditating on “every need” several phrases from songs came to mind: I need Thee precious Savior; I must needs go home by the way of the cross; I need Thee every hour.

Here’s a verse that I refer to often.  Hebrews 10:36 says, “For you have need of endurance, so that after you have done the will of God, you may receive the promise.”  The Greek word for endurance is hupomone.  It means: constancy, perseverance, continuance, bearing up, steadfastness, holding out, patient endurance.  We must actively resist weariness and defeat.

His promise to supply every need reminds us of how intricately He wants to be involved in our lives.  His is a moment by moment empowering.

2 thoughts on “Every Need

  1. My every need???? Wow! I have so many needs. Never thought about the moment to moment ones. I need coffee. I need to make the bed. I need to walk the dog. I need to pray. I need to read for tomorrow’s class. I need to eat. I need to clean. I need to pay bills. I need to make lunch… This is all before 9:00 A.M.! I must go to my closet and rest in His arms. HE wants to fulfill all of those??? I needed this today. So weary and tired. I needed to be reminded that HE really does want to take care of my every need. All I really NEED is to remember HE is my ONLY need!! Thanks again for speaking into my life. I love you so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

