Learned contentment

Last night I meditated on “I learned contentment” from Philippians 4:11.  I wondered when Paul learned.  He went through such severe trials.  I rehearsed some of them: the shipwrecks, the beatings, stoned and left for dead at Lystra, the countless perils, etc.  Although the word doesn’t say, I wonder if it was when the Lord gave Paul the revelation that His grace was sufficient.

Contentment is an attitude which comes from our thoughts which comes from our focus.  Grace is an indescribable gift, freely and abundantly given to the humble who walks in the Spirit.  Therefore discontent is rooted in pride, focused in our fleshly way and time table.

Mark 4:19 says that the desire for other things are thorns that choke the word sown in our heart.  Yet John 15:7 says, “If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you.”  Abiding in Him and His word aligns our desires with His desires.  Ephesians 1:11 says, “…according to the purpose of Him who works all things according to the counsel of His will.”  Masterful orchestration.

We are most content when we are in the center of His will.

2 thoughts on “Learned contentment

  1. So true. Even Jesus said ” not my will but yours be done.” My issue is, Father, show me how to tune my ears to hear you speak daily and I will follow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

