Looking back

Last night I meditated on “Look to the rock from which you were hewn…”  Isaiah 51:1 says, “Listen to Me, you who follow after righteousness, you who seek the Lord: look to the rock from which you were hewn, and to the hole of the pit from which you were dug.”  Think of the myriad ways the Lord has rescued you from things in your past that had kept you imprisoned.  He came to set the captives free!

The only way that we remain captive to something from our past is through our thoughts.  When we look back, we should only see the hole made when He rescued us.  The hole is the reminder of our redemption.  He redeems all things.  Remembering the hole should put a song in our heart. Such as:  I will sing of my Redeemer, and His wondrous love to me; on the cruel cross He suffered, from the curse to set me free.  Sing, oh sing, of my Redeemer, with His blood He purchased me.  On the cross, He sealed my pardon, paid the debt, and made me free.

2 thoughts on “Looking back

  1. I was meditating on John the Baptist. When things didn’t go as he expected he questioned whether or not Jesus was the Messiah, even though John’s entire ministry was centered on that very revelation from God that Jesus was in fact the “Son of God.” Jesus did not get angry when John questioned him, he simply said to tell John about all the signs and wonders that surrounded Jesus. Remembering is the most important part of walking in the truth and not our circumstances.

    Like

Leave a Reply

