Reverential Trust

If you have read my last two Inner Truth notes, I talked about working papers to overthrow strongholds.

When I had my injury I made a working paper for strength and centering.  I have revised it several times to add more categories.  I added one a few days ago for humility.  Pride is very subtle, and God resists the proud.  It is one that I wanted to shore up because I constantly need grace, and He pours out His grace upon the humble.

Proverbs 3:5 Amplified says, “Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding.”  Note that the heart and mind are together.

Last night I was meditating on reverential trust.  Revere means to honor. When we trust the Lord in the midst of our adversity, trials, or hardship, we honor Him.  We choose to lean hard on the Him in dead-weight dependence.  It is a heart decision to believe Him and take Him at His word.  Yet, if in our mind we are casting about with possible solutions, we dishonor Him by leaning on our own understanding.

Matthew 15:8 says, “These people draw near to Me with their mouth, and honor Me with their lips, but their heart is far from me.”  The working papers help keep our heart and mind synchronized as we renew our mind through the truths of His word.

Leave a Reply

