Impatience

A year ago this month I began asking the Lord what He wanted me to meditate on as I went to sleep.  It has changed my life.  He is the initiator.  As I fall asleep, I begin meditating on what He has given me.  When I wake up in the night, I continue meditating.  He gives me insights in my sleep.

Last night He gave me impatience.  Then nearly startled me with these words: impatience is the dead-bolt of pride that blocks grace.

Impatience is pride.  It is not recognizing His control in the moment.  We are never in control of our circumstances.

James 1:4 tells us to let patience have its perfect or complete work.  If we stop it through our impatience we will lack.

Impatience is a lie.  Its a fiery dart.  It pulls us off course.  We become impatient because we think that our way is blocked.  Consider.  When we are led by the Spirit, we are going His way.  Our way is not a consideration.

When we “feel” our way is blocked, it is the opportunity to partner with Him.  We are partakers of His nature.  In that moment of feeling impatience, we do a divine exchange.  We exchange pride for humility.  We become part of His Patience and Longsuffering.  We dialogue, or meditate on His nature.  It captures our thoughts as we put on Christ, thereby making no provision for our flesh.  Romans 13:14 says, “But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision to fulfill its lusts.”

2 thoughts on “Impatience

  1. To think – how often have I blocked His Grace (His working for me) in being impatient. And to think of the humbling knowledge that we ARE “partakers of His nature”…..indeed, patience is the fruit of the Spirit, therefore from God alone. That ‘bunch of grapes’ — the fruit of the Spirit is the very attributes of our God. How do I measure up? Not so good many times, but thankful it is “He that is that is working in me”. And what “He has begun, He will bring to completion” oh, that I may co-operate with Him in trust.

    Like

Leave a Reply

