Wholehearted Obedience

Last night the Holy Spirit gave me wholehearted obedience to meditate on.  I never saw this connection before.  His higher way is our joyful response because we love Him.  Heart obedience rooted in our love.

We quickly and joyfully obey as a demonstration of our love.  Psalm 119:97 says, “Oh, how I love Your law!  It is my meditation all the day.”  Psalm 1:2 says, “But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and in His law he meditates day and night.”

I don’t know your childhood mode of obedience.  Mine was compliant on the outside but rebellious on the inside.  Much like the little boy who was repeatedly told to sit down.  Finally he sat down, but muttered “I’m sitting down but I’m standing up inside.”  Or I submitted out of fear of punishment.

Isaiah 29:13 says, “Therefore the Lord said: Inasmuch as these people draw near with their mouths and honor Me with their lips, but have removed their hearts far from Me, and their fear toward Me is taught by commandment of men.”

Our heart attitude towards obedience as a child carried over to others in authority, and ultimately in our relationship with the Lord.  Romans 6:17 says, “…obeyed from the heart…”  Amplified says, “…you have become obedient with all your heart…”

Paul and John spoke about their converts as their children.  Galatians 4:19 says, “My little children, for whom I labor in birth again until Christ is formed in you.”  3 John verse 4 says, “I have no greater joy than to hear my children walk in truth.”

Hebrews 13:17 says, “Obey those who rule over you, and be submissive, for they watch out for your souls, as those who must give an account.  Let them do so with joy and not with grief, for that would be unprofitable for you.”

The Lord has great joy when we obey from the heart.

 

Leave a Reply

