Ambassadors For Christ

Ambassadors For Christ

2 Corinthians 5:18 says, “Now all things are of God, who has reconciled us to Himself through Jesus Christ, and has given us the ministry of reconciliation.”  Verse 20 says, “Now then, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were pleading through us: we implore you on Christ’s behalf, be reconciled to God.”

An ambassador is a representative.  Authentic followers of Jesus represent Him to those around them, which means that our words and our actions portray the character of Christ.

John wrote expressively of what it meant to follow Jesus.  John and the other disciples were with Him daily as He ministered to those around Him.  1 John 1:1 is very descriptive of that daily interaction.  It says, “That which was from the beginning, which we have heard, which we have seen with our eyes, which we have handled, concerning the Word of life.”

John’s goal in writing the above verse was so we too could personally experience life with Jesus.  Verse 3 says, “That which we have seen and heard we declare to you, that you also may have fellowship with us; and truly our fellowship is with the Father and with His son Jesus Christ.”

It is good to remember that we, who were enemies in our minds, alienated from the life of God, and living habitually in sin, are brought into an intimate relationship with Him through His death on the cross.  That is our ongoing testimony-message to others.

1 John 2:6 says, “He who says he abides in Him ought himself also to walk as He walked.”  Let’s look at one account of Jesus’ active ministry.  We find the story of the Samaritan women in John 4:1-42.

Jesus purposely orchestrated His meeting with the woman.  He strategically set up the divine encounter.  John 4:4 says, “But He needed to go through Samaria.”  In verse 7 He asked the woman for a drink.  In verse 9 she questioned Him as to why He, being a Jew, would ask her anything.  Then she reminded Him that the Jews had no dealing with Samaritans.

She had no clue what was about to happen.  She was just doing what she always did.  Verse 10 says, “Jesus answered and said to her, If you knew the gift of God, and who it is who says to you, ‘Give Me a drink,’ you would have asked Him, and He would have given you living water.”

What an opening for that salvation encounter!  There are countless individuals in our lives who are like this woman.  They do not know the Giver of life.  Jesus is our example of an Ambassador for the Father.

You and I are called to proclaim His good news.  Are you being about your Father’s business?  Are you alert and watching for the ones that He is strategically bringing into your life?

Years ago I read an account that changed my perspective in evangelism.  It was written by Pastor Henry Huckaby.  He had sent his young people’s class to the university to start Bible studies.  No one was interested.  They advertised, they asked, and still no one had any desire to meet with them. 

The pastor gathered them all for prayer and they asked the Lord to lead the people to them.  The next day one of the young ladies was walking on campus.  Two young gals approached her and said, “We want to study the Bible.  Do you know anyone who would help us?”

When they tried to do something in their own strength it failed.  When they waited on the Lord and asked Him for clear direction, He brought the ones to them that He had already prepared.  Here is one on my favorite verses to pray.  Psalm 5:8 says, “Lead me, O Lord, in Your righteousness because of my enemies; make Your way straight before my face.”

One thought on “Ambassadors For Christ

  1. Thank you Marilyn for such a loving reminder. I have dedicated my business to the Lord and see my clients and contacts as an opportunity for ministry. My prayer is to plant seeds wherever I go but sometimes I get wrapped up in details and forget that my job is to be about my Father’s business. It is also a reminder to me to keep on lifting my problems before the Lord; I confess that I have not been as focused on my relationship with Him as I have been on matters of the flesh. When I concentrate on being an ambassador of Christ I am not wasting time in my head with matters that should not concern me. Blessings to you sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

